Coffee Stained Papyrus

Just a Seattle-based girl who loves Jesus. As such, coffee and God's word connect time and time again.

Crowns November 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 3:50 am

There’s something about crowns that (generally) make a girl’s heart go aflutter. As such, when I spotted the following print at a shop I fell in love with it instantly. I’m sure you’ll recognize it:

Not only is it Biblical (Philippians 4:5-7) but it is inspiring and simple to remember. I wanted one but soon found out that my very good friend had already put one in her kitchen. And then another friend had put one in her living room. And then I just wasn’t sure where to get one. And so I didn’t get one.

I recently moved into a new house and was trying to cover the walls with something.It appears, however, that I’m a little resistant to parting with money to purchase art. As such, faced with a beautiful set of silver frames, I elected to make my own print. I’ve enjoyed it (it’s very simple) for the last few weeks but feel compelled to share it here as a means to reflect on some recent happenings. It’s not penance, mind you, but rather a way to ramble with some built-in accountability:

I have loved this phrase (a line taken out of some mysterious hymn – ie: I can’t remember its name) since I first heard/sang it and I’m thankful to have it posted above my ironing board. Up until today I have typically taken it in as I’ve prepared for the day. Today, however, was not one of those days. Instead, I just caught myself reading it thinking ‘Hmph. I wish I had kept that in mind before I went off the deep end.’

You see, in just a few minutes, I felt like my pride (ick – pride!) got sucker-punched back to back resulting in me becoming instantly moody and forgetting the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

As I settled down after exhibiting a not-so-attractive tantrum, I quickly realized that perhaps if I had not been clenching a few key crowns of my life so tightly, I wouldn’t have been injured so much when they were taken from my hands.

Depending on who you talk to, Christians may tell you that when we arrive in heaven we will be crowned by Jesus according to the lives we have led. While that is fascinating in a way, I am much more concerned about the crowns that I’m trying to bestow myself with and their danger. Just like the assortment in the pictures above, the crowns I try to wear vary in material, size, and splendor. All of them, however, are crafted by me and I’m thankful that the Holy Spirit has shown me that they will not make me happy in the long run. For now, all I can do is to look towards Jesus Christ, the God-man who came to earth to wear a crown of thorns (John 19:5), be crucified and die so that he could resurrect and ascend into heaven to wear a golden crown (Revelation 14:14).

It’s His crown that really matters, right?

 

Leave a Reply

