Coffee Stained Papyrus

Just a Seattle-based girl who loves Jesus. As such, coffee and God's word connect time and time again.

Two Important Things May 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 2:42 pm

I have to admit that I was somewhat comforted by a quick facebook discussion my godmother and I had on my wall.

Yesterday was my first day back to work after a mini-vacation. Back in the real world, I had started making a list of all the things that I needed to do, one of which was something that I felt Jesus had been asking me to do for a while. While I mentally broke my Monday into hours, I quickly came to the decision that if I was going to get eight hours or sleep, then Jesus’ request was going to have to be postponed. Alphabetically, my name does come first after all…

I sensed the human-ness in my response. The postponed task wouldn’t really take more than an hour or two. Who was I to become suddenly regimental over my sleeping habits when just weeks before watching episodes from Parks and Recreation or writing posts for my other blog carried me into the wee hours of the night?

As a means for internal accountability (I know, I know… this use of facebook probably wasn’t intended by Mark Zuckerberg when he created it), I posted the following on facebook:

In consideration of all the kingdom building which needs to be done, I wonder if eight hours of sleep really is a priority?

It didn’t take my godmother too long to come up with the following oh-so-appropriate response:

Not if it’s the end of world this week 🙂

Which brings me to the following two important things:

1) The smiley face: My aunt included the smiley face as a means of  a wink between the two of us. Her comment was referring to the INSANE amount of speculation regarding May 21st, the date of which a so-called Christian (I’m sorry if this offends some people but you’ll see why I’ve written this very shortly) has amassed a huge amount of donations and media attention to try to scare people into believing that judgment day will be coming this Saturday.

I am not a prophet. I haven’t gone to seminary either. I do love Jesus though and I read His word pretty consistently and based on those two things alone, I am pretty sure that this May 21st-is-the-end-of-the-world-movement’s use of a website (I don’t even want to know the number of hits its received), billboards, and wrap-around car ads blatantly conflict with the following as said by Jesus himself:

Luke 17 |  20Being asked by the Pharisees when the kingdom of God would come, he answered them, “The kingdom of God is not coming with signs to be observed, 21nor will they say, ‘Look, here it is!’ or ‘There!’ for behold, the kingdom of God is in the midst of you.” 22And he said to the disciples, “The days are coming when you will desire to see one of the days of the Son of Man, and you will not see it. 23And they will say to you, ‘Look, there!’ or ‘Look, here!’ Do not go out or follow them. 24For as the lightning flashes and lights up the sky from one side to the other, so will the Son of Man be in his day. 25But first he must suffer many things and be rejected by this generation.


Matthew 24 | 36“But concerning that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father only.

Scholars who have studied the Bible more intensely and over a longer period of time will have even more verses to support the truth that the time of the final judgment day cannot be predicted. So what’s the takeaway from point number one: it’s ok to not give any credibility to the latest end-of-the-world movement and, if you feel so inclined, to feel frustrated.

Which brings me to the second important item..

2) Developing a worldview: Perhaps you didn’t need the verses above to know that the May 21st prophecy was a sham. I ask you, ‘Why?’ Did it conflict with your worldview, sound crazy or merely make you uncomfortable so you decided to ignore it?

One of the most unfortunate results of the latest end-of-the-world campaign were the reactions to people who haven’t formed a worldview for them to leverage their life upon.

You know (because you’re most likely my friend as this blog does not generate a lot of search term traffic) which team I’m on and why I’ve subscribed to my worldview. This post (surprisingly) though isn’t about teams.

Instead, I’m writing this as a plea for you to form your worldview because it provides purpose and structure to an otherwise chaotic life. As you ask the hard questions you’ll come to conclusions regarding the existence of God, whether there’s an afterlife and what it consists of, and what a life well-lived looks like. It also provides a platform for intellectual conversations among friends and family as we dwell on what really matters so we’re not spending time refuting false claims but rather sharing life together in a meaningful and purposeful way.

John 14:6/

6Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

 

Leave a Reply

