Coffee Stained Papyrus

Just a Seattle-based girl who loves Jesus. As such, coffee and God's word connect time and time again.

Yesterday, I Turned Five Years Old April 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 6:47 am

I’m working against a deadline so that I can use a clever headline because goodness knows that ‘Two Days Ago, I Turned Five Years Old’ just doesn’t have the right ring to it.

Anyway, yesterday I really did turn five years old… in terms of being a true and blue Christian. The occasion brought up a lot of thoughts:

*Gosh! I’m old…

*Gosh! Five years have gone by so quickly…, and finally

*Gosh! After five years of walking with Jesus, what is the most important thing I’ve learned?

Well… there have been a lot of turn-the-world-upside-down things that Jesus has taught me over the last 1,825 days but the one I want to pay homage to today is the fact that Jesus is good because He gives and takes away. People, relationships, gifts, opportunities and treasures…. Jesus has been overwhelmingly generous in His gifting and wonderfully wise in His retraction of things.

Did I learn this right away? Surely not. There have been numerous times where I’ve thought good things have come because I’ve worked hard. Similarly, when things have gone poorly I’ve been sure to ask Jesus why He’s mad at me. Thankfully, the Holy Spirit loves to move and compare my thoughts to God’s word in order to reveal truth so that I won’t stumble for too long!

Jesus, thank you so much for five wonderful and life-changing years – how sweet it is to be loved by you!

PS: Shortly after I became a Christian I fell in love with the movie, The Wedding Date. Shortly after that I fell in love with Michael Buble and found  ‘How Sweet It Is’. I’ve often sang it to Jesus while driving around (by often, I mean at least 100 times) and want to share it with you. I realize, however, that sometimes M. Buble makes some pretty funny faces so if you just want to skip the upbeat song, you can skim the lyrics to see why I think this song makes a great worship song!

How Sweet It Is
I needed the shelter of someone’s arms and there you were
I needed someone to understand my ups and downs and there you were
With sweet love and devotion
Deeply touching my emotion
I want to stop and thank you baby
I just want to stop and thank you baby

How sweet it is to be loved by you
How sweet it is to be loved by you

I close my eyes at night
Wondering where would I be without you in my life
Everything I did was just a bore
Everywhere I went it seems I’d been there before
But you brighten up for me all of my days
With a love so sweet in so many ways
I want to stop and thank you baby
I just want to stop and thank you baby

How sweet it is to be loved by you
How sweet it is to be loved by you

You were better for me than I was for myself
For me, there’s you and there ain’t nobody else
I want to stop and thank you baby
I just want to stop and thank you baby

How sweet it is to be loved by you

 

One Response to “Yesterday, I Turned Five Years Old”

  1. Rabenstrange Says:

    I love his cover of Crazy Little Thing Called Love.


Leave a Reply

