Coffee Stained Papyrus

Just a Seattle-based girl who loves Jesus. As such, coffee and God's word connect time and time again.

Maybe Not So Fearless September 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 6:51 am
Tags:

In my first post, I oh-so-creatively referenced the song Fearless by Taylor Swift, citing that Jesus was the one and only who could ease the fears I had about starting a blog.

Having just returned from an awesome 10 day stint in Greece and Israel, I was talking to my sweet roomate, E, about the trip and things we were both learning as we continue to attempt to put ourselves aside and let Jesus do some refining. She mentioned that she had been benefiting from the Proverbs course which was recently taught at our church. Needing some background noise as I unpacked and laundered my clothing, I listened to the following lesson on the right fear which Christians should have according to Solomon’s discussion in Proverbs 1 (you can view it directly above).

As Meryl Streep would say in ‘The Devil Wears Prada’, I have been moving with a glacial pace through my recent study of Proverbs (I’m using the Proverbs study from NavPress’ Life Change Series). As I pray for a fourth wind to finish the study by Christmas, I found this lesson to be straightforward and helpful. Leading up to vacation, I was somewhat anxious and grouchy… after some time away from the hustle and bustle I found that my exhaustion and sour attitude were caused by me putting my value in earthly scales and not in my identity in Jesus Christ. Hence, when things didn’t work out, I was out of sorts.

I particularly found the first of Pastor Mark’s questions to be really convicting. The question was something to the effect of: what is one area of your life that God in His graciousness has blessed you with wisdom? At first, I couldn’t think of anything and then I realized how prideful I’ve become. In four years of walking with Jesus, I haven’t learned anything? Really? While I sort this out a little further and attempt to give Jesus the credit He is so worthy of, I will also admit that maybe I’m not so fearless.

Proverbs 1

1 The proverbs of Solomon, son of David, king of Israel:
2To know wisdom and instruction,
to understand words of insight,
3to receive instruction in wise dealing,
in righteousness, justice, and equity;
4to give prudence to the simple,
knowledge and discretion to the youth—
5Let the wise hear and increase in learning,
and the one who understands obtain guidance,
6to understand a proverb and a saying,
the words of the wise and their riddles.

7 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge;
fools despise wisdom and instruction.

 

One Response to “Maybe Not So Fearless”

  1. Rabenstrange Says:

    I love Proverbs. It is such a practical, applicable book.


Leave a Reply

