Coffee Stained Papyrus

Just a Seattle-based girl who loves Jesus. As such, coffee and God's word connect time and time again.

Fearless March 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 8:37 pm
Tags:

And I don’t know how it gets better than this
You take my hand and drag me head first
Fearless
And I don’t know why but with you I’d dance
In a storm in my best dress
Fearless

(lyrics from Fearless as sung by Taylor Swift)

If there is anything that you should know about this blog, it’s that its author is not fearless. ‘So why write then?’, you may ask yourself and me.

I have to admit that I have been asking myself the same question for the last eight weeks – the time that has elapsed since I went onto wordpress?…blogspot?… no wordpress and signed up for this account. The reason why I’m writing now, with my first entry being the last day of February is because I was blessed with the thought of a very good title (see above) in the fall. Blessed by whom? Jesus. And now, having signed up for my blog last month, I realized that I really should post something before WordPress kicks me off for inactivity. There’s also the point that Jesus really has been telling me to get on it. Sooner than later.

‘But what do I write about?’, I asked half an hour ago as I lay on the floor in the hallway. I’m not a poet or a deep philosophical thinker. I have even come to the point where I’ve made the general disclaimer on my facebook page that I am ‘vanilla’. This is going to be embarrassing…

So a few minutes ago I trudged upstairs to my desk and started my computer. My stomach literally lurched… the feeling that you get when you’re extremely nervous. Typing in my password and finding Microsoft Word on my computer caused more twisting. As I said, I am not fearless. ‘Well, let’s start with some music… but what kind of music? Does it need to be worship music?’ I ask as iTunes opens… ‘No, just start something that makes me feel good.’ I go straight to Taylor Swift, double-click and then perch over the keyboard. ‘Oh, I get it,’ I think as the music infiltrates my room much too loudly.

What did I get? Simply that this blogging, though not perfect, will be a more-than-ok experience. As I mentioned above, it really is an act of obedience to a mighty and loving God that I’m doing this. To be honest, I’ve never really been into blogging. I don’t have a list of favorites and the pressure to think of something earth-shattering is pretty big. What can a 25 year old, WASP (white anglo-saxon protestant) have to say that will make people sit up and take notice? Perhaps nothing. But I’m willing to see what Jesus has in store. Why? Because I’d dance in a storm with Him in my best dress. Why? Because He is an awesome God who is faithful and just. Is He perfect? Yes. Is He worthy? So much so that perhaps I’ll try to get two posts in next month.

Philippians 4

4Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! 5Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. 7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

 

3 Responses to “Fearless”

  1. gi Says:

    YAY!!! I’m SO glad that you made that leap and published your first post! I think you were spot on in that the point of obedience isn’t the result, but the act. If nothing else, God can use this experience and this blog to teach you to be more fearless (although I’m sure it will also be a blessing to others). Oh, and btw, i LOVe that song too, and for the same reasons! ^_^ love ya~!

  2. Kelly Says:

    Jessica, excellent first post! I love it. And I love that you’re heart for pursuing Christ is so evident. Keep it up, friend!

  3. Rabenstrange Says:

    Unless you are hoping to become a problogger, don’t worry about being profound everyday.

    Just write and be honest. Nobody is really vanilla. Everyone is unique and capable of sharing a viewpoint that no one else has.


Leave a Reply

